Need help choosing graphic novels. Recommendations?

djsupes

Trippin' boos since 1989
Reaction score
Hey guys,

My interest towards comic books has recently been sparked with the release of the Iron Man: Armored Adventures television series and I'm looking to pick up a bunch of graphic novels. In the past I've read DC almost exclusively, so I'm not sure where to begin with Marvel.

What graphic novels would you guys recommend me? I would like to avoid TPBs which require I know the back story to understand them; I am new to the Marvel Universe. I currently have Iron Man: Extremis, Invincible Iron Man, and The Ultimates on my wishlist. I am considering: X-Men: Messiah Complex, Mighty Avengers, The Avengers Initiative, Thunderbolts, and Ultimate Spider Man. I don't want to go crazy with the spending, so if you have any recommendations for specific arcs worth picking up from those titles, that would be awesome.

Also..Yesterday I picked up Secret War, Secret Invasion, and The New Avengers: Secret Invasion Book 2 TPB as well as the Mighty Avengers: Secret Invasion Book 1 TPB. I'm really enjoying Secret War thus far. Oh, and question: which order should I read the Secret Invasion TPBs in? Also, is it wise to pick up New Avengers SI Book 1 and Mighty Avengers SI Book 2?

Sorry for the long post, and thanks for any help. Much appreciated

Last edited:
The Ultimates- Collects The Ultimates 1-13
The Ultimates 2- Collects The Ultimates 14-26

Yeh, I'm gonna pick up the new HC that came out collecting the Ultimates.

Just curious what else. Thanks btw.

Well what exactly are you interested in?What characters what type of stories?

Spider-Man, Captain America, Avengers, Iron Man...

"Types of stories", not sure. As long as there's solid story and some action I should be pleased.

^Thanks.

Have any of you ever ordered from Amazon before? Amazon.ca has ridiculously low prices on some of this stuff...

Spider-Man, Captain America, Avengers, Iron Man...