Superman - Farewell to a friend (short story)

• Thread starter Kai "the spy"
  • Start date
K

Kai "the spy"

Hello folks,
back in the winter of 2004 I wrote this story, originally wanting to see it in comic book form, but since I'm not a professional (yet) I settled with prose. I originally wrote it in German, but now I did this English translation for the international readers. I hope you like it. Feedback's always welcome.
Disclaimer: Superman and all related characters are the property of DC Comics, Inc., and used in this non-profit fan fiction without official permission. No harm intended.

SUPERMAN
Farewell to a friend
by Kai Brauns
Superman created by Jerry Siegel & Joe Shuster

They were all looking at him. Noone had expected that HE would show up.
“Can I help you”, the reverend asked.
Superman stepped forward and said: “Excuse me, I wondered if I may say a few words about the departed.”
The reverend hesitated, looked aroung into the faces of the mourning guests of the funeral service and, finally, nodded.
Superman slowly walked toward the podium, hesitated, then walked past the podium toward the coffin. He looked down with sad eyes, braced himself, turned around and stepped behind the podium. “Ladies and Gentlemen, I’d like to tell you how I met Chris, and what he meant to me.”

The Arctic Giant roared as Superman grabbed it by it’s tail. He pulled as hard as he could, but the reptile was so big that it barely slowed it. The monster turned and slammed it’s claw toward the Man of Tomorrow who could just dodge at the peak of time.
All around them in the streets of Metropolis there was panic. People ran screaming, away from the gigantic beast.