Superman Returns George Perez on Superman Returns trailer and film

Nivek

Avenger
Reaction score
Got to speak to DC Comics legendary artist and writer George Perez this afternoon at my local comic shop in Longwood, FL that was having a little mini-Con for Free Comic Book Day. I've gotten to speak to him before at one of my previous places of employment, but this is my first time since last year I had the chance to talk to him.

He was wearing a printed Superman shirt, so of course, I asked him about what he thought about the trailer and upcoming movie. He said he had some reservations about the film initially because in some pic's Brandon Routh looked too young, others he looked just right. He wasn't too impressed with the first teaser, he liked it, but didn't see enough to really change his opinion.

But he said after seeing the Trailer, all his fears are settled, he loved it. He said maybe it was the music, or maybe seeing Superman in all his glory again, but he will definitely see it if not on opening night, that week. I told him about it may possibly be in-town in Imax 3D, and he was perked up and said he might catch that presentation since he never seen an Imax 3D movie before.

Of course, as we were talking about the movie, some Simpsons Comic Book Guy looking old fart behind us (rudely) mentioned "It'll be stupid if he has a kid". Then I asked George what he thought of it, and if they are going that direction in the comics and his response was he heard rumors, but that it "wouldn't be the first time, either". So blah, the fatty kinda turned away and went about his business eating his free hot dog.

Overall, i was happy to see a long respected Comic Book creator speak face to face about the film, with a big Smile on his face!