How do you draw and color your pictures?

webhead731

I'm a photographer
Reaction score
How do you draw your pictures? How do you color them?

I used to draw them by drawing an outline of the figure and adding the details inside. I heard about the stick and circle method and practiced it for a long time but I sucked at it. For some reason, the last two pictures I drew (a Spider-Man picture and a Venom picture) I was able to use the stick and circle method. I have no idea how I did it. I'm okay at it now...I guess.
I draw with a pencil and then color it in PhotoShop.

What about you guys?

The stick circle thing I never really got. I start with a light outline so I can change/tweak as I go then darken the final version.

Coloring, I used to use markers, now I just don't color. I'd like to get photoshop though.

I stopped coloring with markers and stuff when I got PhotoShop. They screwed my pictures up too much.

I kind of originally did what you do. That's starting with the outline. I would never just draw dark like that first. It can mess up your art. I would draw lightly and rough.

For some reason or another I always start with the head :huh: I just can't stop doing that. I usually have the position I want already in my head. I position the head to the rest of the flow that I want and head south from that. I make my marks light but I still put in some detail with my rough copy. I can't some to sketch for beans, I always end up starting with a final copy. After I get everything the way I want I go back through several times and darken and shade.

I don't have photoshop :( I have a similar program but it doesn't cut it at all. I downloaded gimp and I can't pick it up really. If I can't figure out how all the commands work in a five minute time frame then I pretty much leave it :(

What's so weird with starting with the head? I've always done that.