• Secure your account

A friendly reminder to our users, please make sure your account is safe. Make sure you update your password and have an active email address to recover or change your password.

Long Live the King! The Stephen King's movies Thread.

I have yet to read Christine, but I did see the movie a few years back.

John Carpenter tackled that one. I've never seen it, and I'm a huge Carpenter fan. I'll have to check it out once I'm done with the book.

So I just finished reading The Shining. For years I heard this was meant to be his scariest book. I wouldn't even say it's a contender for it. The only scene I found genuinely creepy was when Danny went into room 217.

Good book, and definitely will read it again, but not one of my favorite King books. Though comparing it to the movie, they really miscast Wendy with Shelly Duvall. I prefer the ending to the book. Much more gripping. The movie missed out a lot on Jack's obsession with the Overlook's history, and his recovering alcoholism. Danny was perfectly cast and portrayed, and so was Hallorann. Though their friendship wasn't as close as in the book.
King's scariest book might be Pet Sematary. Not a big fan of the film though, but I think it's a difficult one to pull off on the big screen.

John Carpenter tackled that one. I've never seen it, and I'm a huge Carpenter fan. I'll have to check it out once I'm done with the book.
Good film from what I remember.

I am almost done reading Christine. I have to say it's one of my favorite King books now. Very underrated, and unpopular opinion here but I am enjoying it more than I did The Shining.

I finished Christine. Loved it. Great book. One of King's best for me.

I'm thinking of getting The Dead Zone next. Anyone read that?

Both the book and the film. Have you read Firestarter, The Joker? I remember that was a good one too.