• We experienced a brief downtime due to a Xenforo server configuration update. This was an attempt to limit bot traffic. They have rolled back and the site is now operating normally. Apologies for the inconvinience.

World The Thor Comics Recommendations Thread

ross2287

Gonzo Journalist
Reaction score
Okay, I'll admit I'm a total noob when it comes to Thor, but the idea of the character has always fascinated me and who doesn't love mythology? It's basically everywhere.

Anyway, let's hear some suggestions. What's good? What sucks? What should be elevated to god-like status? What should be used for lining birdcages?

There's a Thor MAX trade by Garth Ennis. it's hilarious and quite violent, best Thor I can think of

Try the Walt Simonson run in the 80s. Great stuff.

J Michael Stratzynski's current run on Thor is amazing. It's what converted me into a Thor fan. Catching up shouldn't be too hard, just 1-12, then 600.

Straczynski's doing great work on Thor right now, so if you just want to follow the current Thor comics, I'd recommend catching up with the trades that have been released so far.

Robert Rodi and Esad Ribic's Loki mini-series is an absolutely awesome read and a great way to understand the character a lot better.

Walt Simonson's run is legendary and probably forms the basis of most modern fans' idea of what Thor's all about.

Dan Jurgens' run is great after the Death of Odin arc for bringing a more practical bent to Thor, complete with some geopolitics and an examination of how Thor's presence might clash with more established religions.

Anything written by Michael Avon Oeming is going to pretty much drip with fanboy enthusiasm for Thor, so his stories are always fun to read. He only has two: Thor Disassembled and Stormbreaker: The Saga of Beta Ray Bill.

April or May or, like, December. Who cares at this point? Whatever date they've got posted right now, just factor another month or two of delays in and go with that.