What makes a good villain?

xXx

BAM!
Reaction score
Hello,
I am a writer. I am good, but would like to get better. I would appreciate is you could give me some useful tips on
villain characterization.
Thank you!

well if you one thing i think makes a good villain is if there like green goblin and venom are to spiderman. they dont just attack him but attack his family, friends, and anything else he loves. but then theres the villains that have powers that the hero fights time to time but even though there strong the not as bad as the arch enemie.

Cleverness,someone smarter than the hero with the villain always a step ahead. a Villain who only thinks of himself,shows no compassion,cannot be trusted.A villain who is always thinking/planning.Need a good motive though,the villain needs more of a reason as to why he does what he does,simply "he's crazy" doesn't cut it anymore.

Lots of things. There's no formula for making an antagonist. Really, you shouldn't focus on making them good villains, but good characters. You can make your bad guy someone the reader or veiwer can identify with, someone representing some big, real world danger or evil, someone who is a victim of their own darkness, or even someone who isn't all that bad, but just happens to be on the other side of the arguement. Doesn't matter. You just have to make your bad guy more than a two dimensional plot device. He or she has to be a fully realized, three dimensional character with thoughts and feelings and morals and beliefs and interests and flaws and strengths and weaknesses that the audience, for whatever reason, cares about.

It's all in the execution, the idea of the Joker is ridiculous but the way he is done makes it work. Everything has to make sense, why he is doing it, his methods, everything. He also has to be a challenge for the hero, not always physical but in someway he must. Take Superman Returns, Lex utterly beats Superman not through strength but strategy.