BOX OFFICE Discussion

Excel

O-bama-ama-ama-ay-ay
Reaction score
I wasn't gonna do one, but now that imlooking forward to this again, i am!:yay:

This my take on how Ff's box office will go; I am an admin on boxofficefanatic.com.....guess what we discuss and predict all day? I am also a reg. poster on the World Of Kj, also a box office/film discusison website so I do know about this subject:cwink:

Release Date
Opening on a Friday exactly two years after Batman Begins and less than 2 years after Fantastic Four, Rise of the Silver Surfer's release date pins it against Nancy Drew, a family movie aimed at young girls, after Oceans 13, a potential 100 million earner, and before Evan Almighty, the 180 million dollar comedy starring Steve Sarrell. Neither has much appeal to this film's main core audience of kids, teenagers, and action damns though EVAN takes away the comedy audience. That said, mid June does give it a shot at decent legs.

Marketing
As Fox's-the worlds greatest marketer-only big budget summer film, the marketing for this film should be enormous. Given the appeal, it's a sequel, and the quality of marketing we have seen thus far, it is safe to say this film will get fantastic marketing. After all, this is the studio who got X2 to get 4th highest opening weekend EVER at the time.

Original's word of mouth
It is rather obvious Fantastic Four was not the most well recieved film. It dropped on it's first Saturday(HIGHLY unusual for a kiddie/family film), dropped huge in it's second weekend, and had incredibly frontroaded dvd sales. That said, the interest in a good Fantastic Four movie is high and the original does have it's share of fans among kids and teenagers.

Prediction
Friday 6/15 - 28 million
Saturday 6/16- 27 million
Sunday 6/17- 20 million
Opening weekend = 75 million

Monday-Thursday=25 million

Opening week=100 million

2nd weekend=32 million -57%

Monday-Thursday- 12 million

3rd Weekend- 18 million-

Monday-Thursday-5 million